Double Impact: a CHAIRity.

Some of you may not be familiar with the world of Twitter…I for one am a HUGE fan. I could go on and on about why I think its the best social-media tool but I’ll choose instead to zip my lips and save my opinions for another day. Be grateful.

For now, all you need to know is that I came across Double Impact via Twitter and in doing so discovered a sweet (sweet = cool) auction the group organized to benefit the continued flood relief efforts in the city of Nashville.

I give you CHAIRity.

A collection of 90 chairs, hence CHAIRity, were specially “decorated” by members of the Nashville community—civic leaders, athletes, music artists, etc. But these aren’t just any chairs. Each chair was salvaged from homes impacted by the flood and given new life…in very much the same way Double Impact strives to do with the people it serves.

While bidding on a chair may not be feasible for those of us outside the state of Tennessee (note: online bidding IS available) I simply enjoyed going through the online gallery and marveling over each chair.

Some are simple. Some are not so simple. Some would hurt if you sat on them. All of them, however, were made by the hands of people who love their city, and for that simple reason, these chairs are pretty extraordinary.

Below are some of my favorites (:

Amy Grant & Vince Gill's "Heart & Soul" bench.

Covered in sheets of music from an old hymnal, Vince & Amy’s bench is perhaps the most simple “chair” up for auction. The area underneath the seat is covered in newspaper clippings from the days of the flood—not intended to be seen, the clippings serve as a quiet reminder of a challenging time for their beloved city.

"Somedays" by Matt Wertz.

I’ve been a fan of Matt Wertz for over six years (so yes, I might be a bit biased) and I love the way he incorporated lyrics from one of his songs on the seat of his chair.

Some days are so bright I wish that I could save half that sunlight for a rainy day, so when it rains I’d have some sun.”  Written over eight years ago, they couldn’t be more fitting today.

Bari Jacobs & Lee Boone's "Celebrate Today!"

Although I do love the colors in this one, what made it one of my favorites was the beautiful description the two old friends wrote to accompany it. Inspired by 1 John 3:1 ” See how great a love the Father has bestowed on us that we should be called children of God, and such that we are,” Jacobs & Lee were inspired by the newness of life found in God’s love. I couldn’t agree more!

Now go snuggle up in your favorite chair for a few minutes and enjoy CHAIRity. And while you’re there, take a moment to be grateful for the very chair you sit in…

joys, M.

Leave a Reply

