{www} bruno.

i’ve just started a new book…and though i’m only one chapter in, i’m already quite smitten.

these are leo’s words about bruno. they’re old…literally and figuratively…bffs.

bruno, my old faithful. i haven’t sufficiently described him. is it enough to say he is indescribable? no. better to try and fail than not to try at all. the soft down of your white hair lightly playing about your scalp like a half-blown dandelion. many times, bruno, i have been tempted to blow on your head and make a wish. only a last scrap of decorum keeps me from it …… and something else. when we were boys you were the greater writer. i had too much pride to tell you then. but. i knew. believe me when i say, i knew it then as i know it now. it pains me to think how i never told you, and also to think of all you could have been. forgive me, bruno. my oldest friend. my best. i haven’t done you justice. you have given me such company at the end of my life, you especially you, who might have found the words for it all…

the history of love — nicole krauss.

Leave a Reply

