ugly love.

one of my roommates left the above “valentine” and a little treat on the dining room table for me this morning and i died laughing…and while it is clearly meant to be a laugh-inducing statement, i couldn’t help but note a lot of beauty in these funny words.

yes, this particular card is talking about a physical beauty (or lack thereof) , but humor me for a second and let’s pretend like it’s talking about our inner beauty…or lack thereof.

i have no trouble pretending, friends, because let me be honest, my heart is ugly. there are days when there is nothing beautiful about what i’m feeling or thinking…and don’t even get me started on the hideousness of days marked with self-pity or selfish pride.

i am ugly and my ugliness did indeed result in someone’s death. my ugliness nailed my Savior to a cross and let him die in my place. and yet despite my ugliness, He is the one who daily says “i love you, Madison, even though you are so ugly i had to die…i love you, i love you, i love you.”

that’s a love my heart and mind can’t even begin to grasp.
that’s a love i live in today and every day.
and that’s a love i can never return.

i am Madison. i am ugly. but that’s ok, because i am also loved.

happy valentine’s day & loads of love from my little ‘ol ugly heart.

One response to “ugly love.

  1. Wish I could tell you how much this touched me today with my words. Instead I’ll say you’ve captured the words of Paul when he said…”Oh unhappy and pitiable and wretched man that I am! Who will release and deliver me from the shackles of this body of death? O thank God! He will through Jesus Christ the Anointed One our lord. So then indeed I, of myself with the mind and heart, serve the Law of God, but with the flesh the law of sin and death.” Romans 7:24-25..

Leave a Reply

